What Evolves after Charizard? (What evolution comes after Charizard?)

Imagine having a Pokémon that could evolve into a ginormous version of itself. Cool, right?

That’s what you get with the Charizard.

The Charizard, unlike other species, has other evolution stages besides the three normal stages of evolution.

This easily passes as my favorite feature of this Pokémon species. Not only because it gets bigger, but also because the Mega evolved version comes with more perks, such as a stronger attack and defense during battles.

This is just to say the least.

In the spirit of talking about all the cool things about Charizard evolution, I’m going to talk about what evolves after Charizard.

Via Knowyourmeme

Let’s get right into it;

Is Charizard the last evolution?

🐉 Yes, the Charizard is the last evolution of the Charmander Family

Charizard belongs to the first generation of Pokémon monsters categorized under the Charmander family. The family starts with an unevolved fire-type Charmander.

At level 16, the first evolution occurs with the Charmander evolving into a fire-type Charmeleon. Lastly, at level 36, the Charmeleon evolves into a fire and flying type Charizard – the last evolution of the family.

What is the next evolution of Charizard in Pokémon?

Via Giphy

🔥 The unique abilities of the Charizard do not end at its last evolution. Henceforth, you can opt to Mega Evolve your Charizard.

To facilitate the Mega Evolution process, the player should accumulate enough Mega Energy by completing a Mega Raid Battle or by completing specific Field and Timed Research Tasks. 

The Charizard has multiple Mega Evolutions -these are the;

Mega Charizard X – a fire and dragon type 

Pokemon Mega Charizard Y
Pokemon Mega Charizard Y. Image source: Pokemon

The Mega Charizard X is a black fire and dragon-type Charizard with a sky-blue underside. It appears very fit as it has tough large claws, red eyes, sharpened horns that turn blue, and it breathes blue flames from its mouth and tail. 

Additionally, it has two spikes emerging from the front and back of each shoulder blade.

Mega Charizard Y – a fire and flying type 

Pokemon Mega Charizard Y
Pokemon Mega Charizard Y. Image source: Pokemon

The Mega Charizard Y does not change so much in appearance. It retains the same orange color on its body with a cream belly patch.

With this evolution, you will notice it has a sleeker appearance – a longer and thinner torso, blue eyes, and a shorter neck. 

Mega Charizard Y has three horns on the back of its head. On the base of its tail, it has a larger spike with three shorter ones near the tip.  

Gigantamax Charizard – a fire and flying type

Gigantamax Charizard
Gigantamax Charizard. Image source: Pokemon

The Gigantamax Charizard is more ginormous and physically fit. With this evolution, you will notice the Charizard has longer feet. The claws on its hands and feet also get longer and sharper.

Unlike the other two evolutions, the Gigantamax Charizard has a glowing effect, seen on the soles of its feet and its lower belly, spotted with yellow diamonds.

Additionally, you can see a glowing flame emanating from its mouth, tail, and horns. 

The eyes of the Gigantamax Charizard are yellow. It has two wings protruding from its shoulder blades, which transform into a flame when it evolves.

What is the strongest Charizard evolution?

⚖️ Identifying the strongest Charizard evolution should be based on their capabilities, strongholds, and weaknesses. Especially if you plan on taking it out to battle.

Looking at each evolution’s CP, attack, defense, and unique abilities, there is no doubt the Mega Charizard Y is the strongest.

However, if you base your decision solely on appearance, you might choose the Mega Charizard X. Perhaps because of its terrifying demeanor. 

Mega Evolution


Max CP




Mega Charizard X

Fire & Dragon




Mega Charizard Y

Fire & Flying




Breaking it down for you, I have compiled the table below to clearly highlight the differences between the Mega Charizard X and the Mega Charizard Y.

Leave a Comment